Cheltenham Environmental Advisory Council honors TTF!

Julie Slavet
Jul 12, 2015

We’ve been so busy…that we haven’t had time to officially thank the Cheltenham Environmental Advisory Council for recognizing TTF with a Sustainable Cheltenham Award, recognizing how our activities support the Township’s Sustainability Goals, helping to contribute to the long-term resilience of the community.

We are proud to serve “as a model for Cheltenham citizens, businesses, institutions, and schools by demonstrating what is possible,” particularly in ecological stewardship, community engagement, sustainable development, and water management. We’re honored to be recognized along with our partner, the Friends of High School Park.

Thank you, Cheltenham Township EAC — we look forward to continuing to work together!

Here’s the news release and photos from the Township:

Sustainable Cheltenham Award Winners

Posted Date: 6/19/2015

Two organizations were among the seven winners of this year’s Sustainable Cheltenham Awards for making outstanding contributions to sustainability in Cheltenham Township.

The Tookany/Tacony-Frankford Watershed Partnership, Inc, (TTF) has been dedicated to improving the health and vitality of the Tookany/Tacony-Frankford Creek by engaging communities within that watershed, including a large portion of Cheltenham Township, through education, stewardship, restoration and advocacy for over 10 years.

Similarly, the non-profit volunteer organization Friends of High School Park (FHSP) has worked tirelessly to create, manage and preserve an 11+ acre native ecosystem in High School Park in Elkins Park since 1995.

The Sustainable Cheltenham awards, which are sponsored by the Cheltenham Township Environmental Advisory Council (EAC), were presented during the recent FHSP fund-raiser, Arts in the Park featuring Sustainable Cheltenham, held at High School Park.

Photo 1, left to right: Cheltenham Township Commissioner Morton J. Simon, Jr.; Commissioner Ann L. Rappoport; Julie Slavet, TTF executive director; Kurt Ahrens, EAC chair and Lorna Rosenberg, EAC vice chair.
Photo 2, left to right: Cheltenham Township Commissioner Morton J. Simon, Jr.; Cynthia Blackwood, FHSP president; Lorna Rosenberg, EAC vice chair and Kurt Ahrens, EAC chair.


Recent Posts

Scroll to Top