Organizational History


In 2000, the Philadelphia Water Department (PWD) launched the Tookany/Tacony-Frankford Watershed Partnership (TTF), a groundbreaking effort to connect diverse stakeholders as neighbors and stewards of the watershed. The partnership was integral in developing the TTF Integrated Watershed Management Plan, a blueprint for restoring this urban stream into a community asset while addressing the mandated requirements of the federal Clean Water Act and the federal Stormwater Permit Program (MS4).

In 2005, under PWD’s leadership, TTF formally incorporated as an independent nonprofit organization, with a Board of Directors composed of representatives of environmental organizations, community groups, government entities, and other watershed stakeholders.

TTF hired its first full-time Executive Director in 2007 and Julie Slavet, current Executive Director, joined TTF in 2011. Since then, the organization has expanded to a full-time staff of six, including an Executive Director and Communications Director, as well as Upstream and Philadelphia teams.

TTF experienced significant growth in 2013, adopting a new Strategic Plan and moving to the Globe Dye Works to be closer to Tacony Creek Park. In early 2014, TTF was awarded funding through the William Penn Foundation’s multi-year Delaware Watershed Conservation Program “to protect land, restore streams, test innovative approaches in ecologically significant places, and monitor results over time.”

In 2011, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency recognized TTF’s efforts with a prestigious Mid-Atlantic Region Environmental Achievement Award. In 2013, the Eastern Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce named TTF Non-Profit of the Year. In 2014, TTF projects at Abington Junior High School, Cedarbrook Middle School in Cheltenham, and Vernon Park in Philadelphia’s Germantown were recognized by the National Wildlife Federation (NWF) Certified Wildlife Habitat®National Audubon Society Bird Habitat, and Pennsylvania Horticultural Society’s (PHS) Community Greening Award.